The Monk’s Mill

This spring we’ve been taking day trips as a family and visiting many of the towns within an hour or two from our home to which we’ve never been. At some point we visited Ravensburg, Germany. Aside from being quite a charming Old European town with many buildings dating back from the 11th and 12th centuries, I was thrilled to find a working grain mill! The Monk’s Mill has apparently been in operation since around 1300 A.D. and originally belonged to a Dominican Nunnery and changed hands a few times until it was bought in the mid 1800’s by the family who still runs the mill.

Our first visit to Ravensburg was on a Sunday afternoon and, this being Europe, the mill was closed. Being the old-fashioned gal that I am, the thought of buying grain from a mill was quite romantic and alluring. In addition to the romance, it is also quite practical for me to buy my flour in a large quantity (which makes it quite a bit cheaper than at the grocer’s) since I bake so much. Buying my flour also has the added plus of supporting local farmers since all of the grain they mill comes from this area and a large portion of it is organic.

We decided to go back on a Friday afternoon with the main purpose of visiting the mill. It was fantastic! I felt like the proverbial kid in the candy shop. I came out of the store with my pocketbook lightened a bit, but with my shopping basket weighed down. I bought 5 kg (11 lbs) of organic spelt flour, 2.5 kg (5.5 lbs) of organic oats, 1 kg (2.2lbs) organic spelt späztle flour, a baking seed mixture (to put in and on top of breads), a huge package of caraway seeds, a package of sourdough leavening and some organic coconut chips (yes, random purchase at a mill, but they have a small organic shop as well). I actually bought less than planned, but I decided for a first visit I would hold back a bit.

On the way home we stopped at an out-of-the-way  farm gasthaus (think country restaurant) where I surprisingly got the most amazing cappuccino I have ever had. The milk they used for the foam was straight from the cow – absolutely fabulous! We had a great date and I found a new resource for local organic grains.

Here’s a picture of my purchases, just in case you’re interested.

~ by katescookery on May 26, 2010.

One Response to “The Monk’s Mill”

  1. Hi Kate! Found your blog like we talked about, hope the rest of your day was good – never heard of Seele, wil have to try ^_^

Leave a Reply

 
