Super Scrumptious (and Healthy) Spinach Dip

Today my son wanted french fries for lunch and I caved. But I can’t just feed my son french fries, even if they are homemade, baked french fries. So I decided to get a bit creative with the dip, namely spinach dip. Not the incredibly fattening, hardly nutritious type, but a much better version. (Although, I like the other version, too, just not very often.) So, here’s what I did:

Take about a cup of frozen spinach. Place in a sauce pan with three to four tablespoons of homemade chicken broth. Add salt, pepper and a garlic seasoning (mine is a salt-free mix with herbs). Warm through for 5-7 minutes and dish into individual ramekins. Stir in a tablespoon of plain yoghurt. I used regular, but you could also use low-fat if you wanted to. It just wouldn’t be quite as creamy.

Viola! It’s that easy. And absolutely delicious. My three-year-old loved it so much that he ditched the fries and ate the spinach dip by itself. He asked for seconds and only then did he eat his french fries (which according to him are one of his favourite foods).

I think this would also make a great dip for raw veggies or maybe even as a sauce for some noodles. The possibilities are endless.

~ by katescookery on July 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

